About us.

This website is the successor to an earlier publication of the Society for the Architecture of the City, Village Views, which re-appears here, indexed and digitized for the first time.

The Society for the Architecture of the City is a small all-volunteer historic preservation advocacy group founded in 1983. We monitor the Landmarks Preservation Commission. Our society is named after Aldo Rossi’s The Architecture of the City, published in translation by the MIT Press in 1982, with an introduction by Peter Eisenman.

The officers of the Society are Ronald J. Kopnicki, President, Matt McGhee, Treasurer and Christabel Gough, Secretary.